Posted on

Steely Dan – Gaucho

Steely Dan that is. And Gaucho the best album I thought. Steely Dan is simply mesmerizing. I stumble upon this album when I was 18 and fell in love with it at the first sight! Yes! The album cover was the main attraction but when I sampled all the tracks I knew this one is going to be one that will stay with me all my life.

Steely Dan is Donald Fagen and Walter Becker. They were both listening to the music of their idols Charlie Parker, Duke Ellington and John Coltrane when they were growing up and both of them feel an affinity with the “Jazz Life.”

After Gaucho they felt exhausted and called it quits but get back into the studio and tours soon after.

The album Two Against Nature recorded in 2000 put them in Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as well as 4 Grammys and Album of the Year.

Nonetheless I will anytime put my money on Gaucho. Have I not?

Cheers..

These are some of Steely Dan’s best.

Leave a Reply

